Senate is an advisory body made up of elected Senators from each campus of the University of Minnesota system. There are three different Senate bodies – Faculty Senate, Student Senate, and University Senate, which meet once a month. Within Student Senate, there is a total of 50 Senators that represent their respective Colleges. UMD is made up of 7 senators; 2 SCSE, 1 LSBE, 2 CEHSP, and 2 CAHSS with the number of senators dependent on the size of the collegiate unit.

Committee on Committees

The Committee on Committees consists of the vice-chairs of each of the congressional committees, as well as the Speaker and The Associate Speaker of Congress. The Speaker of Congress oversees CoC and is responsible for running all meetings. CoC is responsible for interpreting the attendance policy, appointing members to the committee for the selection of a Representative to the Board of Regents, as well as all impeachment and other petitions pertaining to Congressional membership.

Rules and Elections Committee

This committee is made up of 4 or more members and is responsible for the organization, supervision, and operation of all UMDSA elections and the rules of operation. The point of this committee is to help make sure elections run smoothly, and the bylaws/constitution is consistently updated.